Archive for August, 2013



Faculty/Department: Arts, Humanities and Social Sciences/Politics and Public Administration

Title of Post: Lecturer below the bar in Peace and Development Studies

The successful candidate will contribute to undergraduate and postgraduate teaching in the Department of Politics and Public Administration in the area of Peace and Development Studies, including student supervision duties.

Over the duration of the post, the Lecturer will be expected to make a reasonable contribution to the activities and research objectives of the Department as may be requested by the Head of Department.

Specifically the appointee will be required to cover teaching, in whole or in part, on the following modules:

Nationalism, Ethnicity and Conflict
African Politics (or an alternative area studies specialism)

Conflict, Security and Development
Politics of Reconciliation in the Aftermath of Conflict
Foreign Aid and Development
Peacekeeping and Peace Building

Contract Type: Specific Purpose Contract

Salary scale: €41,498 – €51,722 p.a.
(Less 10% and 1st point, for new entrants to the Public Sector)
Further information for applicants and application material is available online from:
The closing date for receipt of applications is Friday, 13th September 2013
Informal enquiries regarding the post may be directed to:
Dr Bernadette Connaughton
Dept of Politics and Public Administratioon
University of Limerick


Call for nominations: Duncan Black award


About the award

The Standing Group on Analytical Politics and Public Choice, which is active within ECPR, has created the Duncan Black Award. This award honors a graduate student who has presented the best paper at the ECPR General Conference pursuing research in analytical politics that combines systematic theoretical thinking and rigorous empirical testing. The award carries a prize of 200 Euros.

Panel chairs are encouraged to nominate papers. Self-nominations are welcome. In order to be considered for the prize, papers must be submitted to bjorn.hoyland (at) no later than 1 September. The winner of the award will be announced at the standing group business meeting at the ECPR General Session in E109, Thursday 5 september 1240 – 1400.    


Previous Winners:


Markus Baumann, Matthias, Haber and Christian H. Wältermann (University of Mannheim)

“Directive Communication? The Informational Interplay of Parliamentary Actors.”


Elena Nikolova (Princeton University)

“Labour markets and representative institutions: Evidence from Colonial British America”


Nikoleta Yordanova (European University Institute, Florence)

“Rationale behind committee assignments in the European Parliament: Distributive, informational and partisan perspectives”


Sandra Pogodda (University of Cambridge)

“Reforming North Africa and the Middle East”